Lifestyle Curators for Thailand + Southeast Asia

What Is the “Phuket Sandbox 7+7 Extension”?

  /  DESTINATIONS   /  Thailand   /  LE Phuketian   /  What Is the “Phuket Sandbox 7+7 Extension”?

phuket sandbox 7+7

The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) announced that the Phuket Sandbox program received the green light from the Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) to be upgraded as the “Phuket Sandbox 7+7 Extension,” providing fully vaccinated international travelers with more options to visit multiple Thai destinations, without the need to quarantine.

“The launch of the Phuket Sandbox from 1 July, Samui Plus from 15 July, and Phuket Sandbox 7+7 Extension from 16 August will lead the way to the reopening of more pilot destinations, which are currently preparing appropriate measures to ensure the health and safety of both the tourists and local people,” said TAT Governor Mr. Yuthasak Supasorn.

Starting from 16 August 2021, the “Phuket Sandbox 7+7 Extension” scheme allows eligible international travelers to reduce the mandatory stay in Phuket from 14 to seven days, after which another seven nights can be spent in Krabi (Ko Phi Phi, Ko Ngai, or Railay), Phang-Nga (Khao Lak or Ko Yao), or Surat Thani (“Samui Plus” – Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, or Ko Tao).

The existing entry measures in place for the Phuket Sandbox program remain unchanged for the 7+7 extension. H0wever, travelers planning to spend another seven nights outside of Phuket must obtain a “Transfer Form” issued by their hotel in Phuket, indicating that they have stayed in Phuket for seven nights. They will need to show this, together with the negative results of their two COVID-19 tests (conducted on Day 0 and Day 6-7 in Phuket), at their next destination.

How to travel to Surat Thani, Krabi, and Phang-Nga after seven days in Phuket

Traveling from Phuket to the selected areas in Krabi, Phang-Nga, or Surat Thai is available only via approved routes and modes of transport.

  • Surat Thani: “Samui Plus” (Ko Samui, Ko Pha-ngan, or Ko Tao) can be reached via Bangkok Airways’ direct domestic flight on the Phuket-Ko Samui route.
  • Krabi: Ko Phi Phi, Ko Ngai, and Railay can be reached by SHA Plus-certified boat and ferry services from approved piers.
  • Phang-Nga: Khao Lak can be reached by SHA Plus-certified car transfer services from Phuket direct to the SHA Plus-certified hotels. While Ko Yao Noi and Ko Yao Yai can be reached via SHA Plus-certified boat and ferry services from approved piers.

Once travelers have completed the seven-night extension in Krabi, Phang-Nga, and Surat Thani (“Samui Plus”), and are tested negative in their third COVID-19 test (conducted on Day 12-13), they will receive a “Release Form” from their hotel and will be able to continue their journey to other destinations in Thailand.

If the stay in Krabi, Phang-Nga, or Surat Thani is less than seven nights, travelers must proceed directly to Phuket International Airport on the day of departure. At the port of entry back into Phuket, they will need to show a plane ticket or other proof of their international travel from Phuket.

koh racha islands

Koh Racha Islands, near Phuket